The trial and implementation of intelligent speed adaptation in New South Wales

Illustrations © NSW Centre for road safety, Roads and Traffic Authority

The Roads and Traffic Authority of New South Wales (RTA) has primary responsibility for road safety across the Australian state of New South Wales (NSW) over 188,000 kilometre road network. In July 2007 the Authority established the New South Wales Centre for Road Safety to promote and deliver a "safe systems" approach to road safety throughout the organisation. The Centre has adopted a four pillars approach to road safety namely improving the safety of People, Roads, Vehicles and the research and implementation of new Road Safety Technologies.